2019 was an important year, not only for us, but also for the plastics industry. With around 225,000 visitors from 165 countries, the K in Düsseldorf is the world’s largest plastics and rubber exhibition, which after 2016 took place again this year.

According to Werner Matthias Dornscheidt (President & CEO of Messe Düsseldorf), 2019 was just the right time for this exhibition. Especially now, as we are facing major challenges, such a platform is indispensable for the industry. The main subject in this aspect of course is climate awareness, which has taken up the most space in the minds of exhibitors and visitors of K 2019. This factuality was particularly reflected by the high level of interest on both sides for future-oriented, recyclable solutions and sustainable production. What should be noted at this point is that the investment enthusiasm of trade fair visitors has not diminished this year either.

The 17 Swiss companies, which were able to present themselves in our Swiss Pavilion were of course highly involved aswell. In cooperation with Switzerland Global Enterprise, we were able to build an island stand with more than 300m², on two floors for the first time this year. The design of the stand in particular represented the characteristics shared by the exhibiting companies: Innovation, flexibility, durability, precision; “Swissness” to sum that up perfectly. Exceptionally striking this year was the curved plastic arch over the Swiss Community Booth, which brought the above attributes to bear.

So we can look forward to the K 2022 with great anticipation and of course hope to welcome as many of this year’s exhibitors as possible back to the Swiss Community Booth.

2019 war ein wichtiges Jahr; nicht nur für uns, sondern auch für die Kunststoffindustrie. Die K in Düsseldorf ist mit ca. 225’000 Besuchern aus 165 Ländern die weltweit grösste Kunststoff- und Kautschukmesse, welche nach 2016 dieses Jahr in die nächste Runde ging.

2019 war, laut Werner Matthias Dornscheidt, (President & CEO von Messe Düsseldorf) genau der richtige Zeitpunkt für diese Messe. Gerade jetzt, wo grosse Herausforderungen auf uns zukommen, sei eine solche Plattform für die Industrie unabdingbar. Gemeint ist damit das Klimabewusstsein, welches in den Köpfen der Aussteller sowie der Besucher der K 2019 am meisten Raum eingenommen hat. Dies widerspiegelte sich besonders im beidseitig hohen Interesse an zukunftsorientierten, recyclebaren Lösungen mit nachhaltiger Produktion. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass die Investitionsfreude der Messebesucher auch dieses Jahr nicht abgenommen hat.

Mit dabei waren auch die 17 Schweizer Unternehmen, welche sich in unserem Swiss Pavillion präsentieren konnten. In Zusammenarbeit mit Switzerland Global Enterprise konnten wir dieses Jahr erstmals einen Inselstand auf über 300m² mit zwei Stockwerken errichten. Das Design des Standes repräsentierte besonders die Eigenschaften, welche von den ausstellenden Unternehmen geteilt werden: Innovation, Flexibilität, Langlebigkeit, Präzision; “Swissness” eben. Besonders auffallend dieses Jahr war der geschwungene Kunststoffbogen über der Swiss Community Booth, welcher die oben genannten Attribute entscheidend zur Geltung brachte.

So können wir mit grosser Vorfreude der K 2022 entgegensehen und hoffen natürlich, möglichst viele der diesjährigen Aussteller auch dann wieder bei uns in der Swiss Community Booth willkommen heissen zu dürfen.